Nyx, Goddess of the Night

  25

Rather belated photo set but these shots are from Halloween. I can never decide what I want to be in time to create a killer costume so I always end up throwing something together last minute. Fortunately I had this beautiful black prom dress hanging in my closet which provided the perfect canvas for me to try out some new makeup and styling ideas. You can’t tell since the photos are all black and white but my lipstick is actually a beautiful deep blue called Smoking Gun. For a color picture (and closeup of the makeup) you can check out my Instagram @fionaisabelle! The tattoos are hand drawn with liquid eyeliner, courtesy of myself and my friend Amy. I ended up deciding to be Nyx, Greek goddess of the Night, hence the stars and all black ensemble. I don’t know much about Nyx honestly, beyond the fact that she was a badass like most Greek goddesses. I love Greek mythology though my knowledge has dwindled over the past few years. Still I claim Artemis and Athena as my patron goddesses. They are everything I aspire to be and I send little prayers up to them every now and then.

1112 10

Anyway, I’m hoping to get around to doing a few more impromptu photoshoots like this. I miss modeling (and styling). I’d love to start doing more “legit” modeling work but until then I’ll stick to the DIY amateur version! I’m grateful that there are so many platforms for amateurs like myself to put up photos. Even if it’s not professional quality, it’s a lot of fun. And that’s what really matters, right?

8  29 3 7

Let me know if there’s anything in particular you’d like to see along these lines! I’m always open to theme suggestions and trying something new. And let me know in the comments what you think of Greek mythology or mythology in general! Do you have a favorite god or goddess?

Leave a Reply

