Uninspired

DSC_1288 edit

 

Oh my, it has been a long week. A long, tired, uninspired week. And unfortunately it isn’t over yet.

I’ve been listening to Kerrigan & Lowdermilk’s “The Bad Years” on repeat lately. My favorite version is Jay Armstrong Johnson singing it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zCBp6gKfDW8. I don’t think these are necessarily “the bad years,” but sometimes that title feels pretty accurate! In reality this is just an off week or month or what have you. But how do you shake yourself out of that funk? If you have any suggestions, do let me know, because I’m ready to feel inspired again!

In dance improvisation (my absolute favorite class this semester), we started last class with a free writing exercise. For three minutes, you write, you write, you don’t stop writing. It’s always very cathartic. And honest. There’s no time to edit your words, your self, your essence. It all goes back to questioning who I am and who I want to present to the world. Exercises like these really show who I would be if I didn’t edit my life…under the read more at the end of this post you’ll find a free writing exercise from just now. If you want unedited, there you go.

Now to fix the uninspired…

DSC_1289 edit

DSC_1291 edit

 

Outfit Details
Polka dot skater skirt – River Island from ASOS
Studded platforms – Target
Crop top – Altered from Goodwill for my Kim Possible costume last year!

DSC_1292 edit

 

Ignore my face. Included this photo for the closer version of the necklace.

 

September of '92

Setting the clock: three minutes. Three minutes. What can you do in three minutes? Anything. I feel like you could do anything in three minutes, if you truly wanted to. Well, perhaps not anything but you get my drift. I could do so much more with my life if I really made those three minutes count each day. But I don’t. I waste those minutes. And why? Because it’s not enough time, because it wouldn’t be perfect, because what’s the point? Excuses, excuses, excuses. I really like excuses, don’t I. JUST DO IT. I wish I just did things more instead of worrying. Worry, worry, worry. That’s all I seem to do and that holds me back and I hate it. But what happens if I don’t worry? It could be a catastrophe. It could mean *gasp* failure. In this society, failure is not an option. But failure should be an option. Sure, not one to aspire to, but without mistakes nothing happens. Nothing grows or improves. Improvement and innovation come from failure, as illustrated time and time again. So take the time to take the chance. Like in these three minutes that just passed.

One thought on “Uninspired

Leave a Reply

