Why

Well I’m long overdue for a blog post as I’ve been busy getting ready for school, packing, etc. Excuses, excuses! I have a few outfit posts in the queue now though, so expect more regular posts from now on.

I’ve also been putting off writing this post as every time I sit down to write, my thoughts create a rambling mess that no one should ever be forced to read.

Essentially, I want to address why I do these outfit posts and why fashion matters to me. I often feel like a complete narcissist what with photographing my self everyday and slapping my face on every possible social media outlet. “Why would people want to see my face everyday? Why would they want to see my outfit choices? Why would my external appearance matter? Why, why why?”

Well, I’ll tell you why.

I have always been a late bloomer (speaking of, check out this post by Rebecca of The Clothes Horse) and this definitely applies to finding my personal style. I didn’t own a single pair of jeans until middle school. In third grade I wore those matching halter and shorts sets, furry shirts, and bandanas. By middle school I’d graduated to jeans and polos in an attempt to fit in with the popular crowd. I soon learned that just because you dress like someone else, it doesn’t make you like them. High school is when I started experimenting more with fashion and discovered my love of vintage clothes, thanks in part to the opening of Street Scene Vintage. And it wasn’t until about senior year of high school that people started commenting on and complimenting the way I dressed.

This personal evolution of style continues even now, which is one of the main reasons I started this blog. I want to record the ebbs and flows of my personal style, as it is really interesting to look back on why I wore what I did. Was it changes in societal fashion trends? Personal growth? Trying to change the way people perceive me? It’s great to look back on these posts and memories and connect the dots.

As for why fashion matters to me, it’s actually something I struggle with a bit. I strongly believe that what’s inside matters more than what’s outside, but that does not mean the external is unimportant. So often it’s a reflection of what’s inside in some manner, or even a way to combat internal struggles. That’s certainly a way in which I use fashion. I have several chronic illnesses, body image issues, and can get very depressed at times. Anytime I’m feeling low or sick it genuinely helps to dress up. The better I look, the better I feel. So even when I feel particularly ugly or chubby I try my best to wear an outfit I love. Because if I save an outfit for the days I feel pretty and thin, I’m never going to wear it!

This post will be far too long if I expand any further on the “why” of this blog, but I’ll try to touch on it in future posts. If you have any questions or comments, please let me know!

Now to the fun part…the actual outfit post!

This outfit is from a week or so ago when it was grey and rainy out. I thought some rainbow fun might keep the grey moods at bay!

DSC_0885

 

Outfit Details
Shirt – Street Scene Vintage
Teal jeggings – DOTS
Rain boots – Target

DSC_0881

DSC_0892

DSC_0905

Here, have a jumping picture because why not, right?

9 thoughts on “Why

Leave a Reply

